The tracking template is a setting within Google ads that makes it possible for users to track ad clicks. It’s an instruction to Google Ads on how to form ad URLs. Configuring the tracking template in Google Ads is required in order for ClickGUARD to provide click fraud protection.

Why does ClickGUARD require the tracking template?

ClickGUARD uses the tracking template to log ad clicks for your protected campaigns. This is the only approach that guarantees that ClickGUARD will log all relevant ad clicks and apply forensic processing and protection rules.

Is admin access required?

No. ClickGUARD's really only needs "standard" access to be able to block IP addresses and exclude placements. Read more about account access levels in Google Ads here.

Is ClickGUARD tracking visible to my visitors?

Click tracking is not visible to visitors since the entire process takes up around 6 milliseconds making it invisible to the naked eye. A tech-savvy visitor who is monitoring web traffic will be able to register both ClickGUARD’s and Google’s own tracking. However this is not the behavior of a vast majority of Internet users.

With parallel tracking in Google Ads ClickGUARD's tracking is not visible even to machines.

Can I set the tracking template manually?

Yes. You can opt-out from having ClickGUARD automatically set the tracking template on the account level by visiting Settings, unchecking the “I want ClickGUARD to automatically set Google Ads tracking template” box and saving changes.

Read on how to set the tracking template in Google Ads here.